Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: The structure of liquid semiconductors.
Authors: Hawker, Ian.
Award date: 1974
Presented at: University of Leicester
Abstract: By using the method of elastic neutron scattering, structure factors were measured for the chalcogens tellurium, selenium and sulphur in the liquid state. Partial structure factors were also obtained for the liquid semiconductors Cu2Te, CuTe and Ag2Te. By Fourier transforming these structure factors radial distribution functions (R.D.F's) were found. Structural models consisting of ionic bonding, covalent bonding and clusters were compared with the experimental data, and the interpretation was aided by the construction of computer models by a ' Monte-Carlo' method. It was concluded that the liquid semiconductors investigated have a complex structure with mainly covalent bonding; also that liquid selenium consists of chains of atoms and liquid tellurium has a network structure similar to that outlined by Cabane and Friedel (1971).
Type: Thesis
Level: Doctoral
Qualification: Ph.D.
Rights: Copyright © the author. All rights reserved.
Appears in Collections:Theses, Dept. of Engineering
Leicester Theses

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
U435895.pdf25.37 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in LRA are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.