Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Memnon, a musical score for ballet, together with a study of twentieth-century tonality and line through analysis of Debussy's "Fetes galantes" Book II, Stravinsky's "Agon" and Tippett's "Sonata no. 3 for Piano".
Authors: Waite, Mike.
Award date: 1994
Presented at: University of Leicester
Abstract: Memnon is an abstract ballet for eight dancers: four female, four male. It has eleven movements scored alternately for full orchestra and two pianos. The composition and accompanying study share a concern with tonality. The purpose of the study is to illuminate aspects of the compositional procedures of Memnon, specifically its tonality and line, and to relate Memnon and other compositions by the author to contemporary music. The method employed is to analyse three works, Debussy's Fetes Galantes Book II, Stravinsky's Agon and Tippett's Sonata No. 3 for Piano, which have proved influential in the author's style of composition, and which are outstanding representations of a living tradition of which the author's ballet suite forms part. In conclusion, those features of tonality and line illuminated by analysis are related to the author's own work.
Level: Doctoral
Qualification: Ph.D.
Rights: Copyright © the author. All rights reserved.
Appears in Collections:Theses, Dept. of Music
Leicester Theses

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
U057909.pdf15.33 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in LRA are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.